Reviews

Reviews

Take a look at what our lovely guests have said about Seaview Cottage in Straad:

What an exceptional house in an exceptional place. Ok we had three weeks of perfect weather and that might be exceptional for Bute but if you meet a local on an evening stroll they say it's always like this !! Just perfect, don't want to leave.

Bob and Pamela - May 2024

This cottage is perfect! It is beyond perfect, and the owner has literally thought of everything one could need. It takes comfort to a new level and the feeling of peace that descends from the moment you arrive is unforgettable! I did not want to leave, and I will be back

Sharon, Maureen and Ben & Pip the Dogs - March 2024

Lovely homely cottage renovated to a very high standard. Excellent beach side location. Welcome foodie gifts much appreciated and it was great to be able to contact the owner directly.

William, Kirsty & Family - February 2024

Lovely homely cottage renovated to a very high standard. Excellent beach side location. Welcome foodie gifts much appreciated and it was great to be able to contact the owner directly.I have never stayed in such a beautiful cottage!! The cottage itself was immaculately maintained and so clean and tidy. It is very well furnished and equipped with high spec products and has been thought of so well. It really is a home from home with everything you need and I can't fault anything. The welcome gifts were so thoughtful and the hosts even thought of the dog! The communication with the host was fantastic. Both before, during and after our stay. The cottage itself is in a super location only yards away from a beach with stunning views including onto the Isle of Arran. The garden room with dining table and sofa was the most used room to relax, soak in the scenery and play games. In fact, all week the television didn't go on- our three children never asked for it either! This is the most perfect holiday cottage and you will thoroughly enjoy the rest, views, wildlife, beaches and all within the comfort of a faultless cottage.  

Ruth, Craig & Family, and Jack the Dog - October 2023

I just wanted to let you know how much my husband and I enjoyed your lovely cottage last week on Bute. The cottage was just wonderful in every way, the location, the decor, the fact that everything was thought out and provided, and that view! My husband appreciated your garden and the obvious time and planning that had gone into making it so beautiful. The mature rosehip hedge was covered in birds enjoying the rosehips every day. Ted would say he enjoyed the location, the sea and all those beaches. The fact he made a dog friend who lived in Straad, and walked with most afternoons was a bonus. Everyone we met was very friendly and welcoming, and I am sure we will return to Seaview Cottage and the island. The weather was glorious and we loved the peace and quiet whilst sitting in the garden early morning and late evenings, there were some stunning sunsets too.. And yes, we tried an apple off the tree and they were perfectly ripe Many thanks once again, you have made a beautiful holiday property which I am sure will be very well used and full for most of the year.

Helen, Cornelius and Ted the Dog - September 2023

Seaview is a very special cottage which feels like home from the moment you walk through the door. There a so many thoughtful touches, cake in the tin, milk in the fridge etc. 
The views from the cottage are simply awesome. We loved the garden and its sculptures and indeed all the artwork in and around the house.
We have special memories that will endure. Many thanks to Alison and her team.

Rosemary, David & Megan the Dog - July 2023

 

I stayed here with my dog week-commencing Saturday 24 June 2023. The quality of the accommodation is easily the best I have had the pleasure of enjoying. To even attempt to do it justice would be to sell it short. But let's just say it is spacious, tastefully decked out, well equipped and gorgeous. Make no mistake; there is no ostentation to be found here. The satellite-delivered broadband isn't great here. Being on the west coast of an island off the west coast of Scotland, it's only realistic to be prepared for this one small compromise. The broadband will enable you to view non-media-rich content, but that's about it. The view out towards Arran's Glen Rosa peaks is certainly one of the best views in Scotland. The half-mile walk to Ninian's Chapel at the end of St Ninian's Point is very rewarding. I have not felt as uplifted and at peace as I did during that walk.  If I had to offer a short and sweet strapline, it would be: The surrounding landscape is fabulous, but my word, get a load of the accommodation.                                                                            

Jenny, John & Archie the Dog - June 2023

 

"We had an amazing holiday at Seaview Cottage, the best UK holiday we have ever had. The location and views are perfect, and the cottage was spotless, providing everything we needed. The personalised welcome pack was very thoughtful and so lovely to be greeted with this after our long drive there, along with some beautiful fresh flowers. Aisha the dog loved her welcome pack too.The very short 3 minute stroll to the quiet, beautiful beach was fab and our doggy was in her element. There are cows, sheep and donkeys very close to the cottage but they seemed very used to humans and dogs so Aisha didn't seem too bothered with them.I loved how remote and quiet it was, very relaxing and could totally switch off. It was never too far to drive to anywhere either.Couple of things we would recommend are the driving trail around the island (there is a guide in the cottage) which allowed you to see all the main sites helping you to choose what you might want to go back to, and also a drive to the northern ferry at Rhubodach and walk up the hills there to view the Kyles of Bute from above, absolutely stunning!The town of Rothesay had everything you need and is only a 15 min drive. Lots of little independent shops and a Co-op which supplies everything you need land they do deliver to Seaview Cottage). Thank you for a fabulous holiday, we will certainly be returning next year!"

Louise, Gary & Aisha - June 2023

 

"Beautiful cottage in a wonderful setting right by the sea with spectacular views. The garden was a wonderful space to sit in and admire the views and we loved playing boules and badminton! the cottage was absolutely spotless, sparkling clean with beautiful towels and linen and lovely comfy beds. The kitchen was really well equipped with everything you could possibly need, the hotel chocolate sachets and Velvetiser were such a lovely addition and enjoyed by all. Lovely welcome pack, well stocked with Twinings tea bags, coffee maker, dishwasher tab, washing powder, dog treats-everything had been thought of.

Alison was a great host, excellent communication and could not do enough. I would not hesitate to come back to Seaview cottage again which is unusual for us as we like to explore different places, but this place has set the bar so high it will be hard to match."

Donna - June 2023

 

 

"A FANTASTIC place to stay! We cannot praise this Cottage, and it’s location, highly enough: it surpassed ALL our expectations. We were greeted to a personalised welcome pack full of local/Scottish goodies, spotlessly clean, warm and inviting rooms, with luxurious fixtures and fittings. As we found during our week of ‘heaven’ in Seaview Cottage, every little thing is catered for (especially consumables in the kitchen and bathrooms). The Conservatory is just bliss to sit/eat in, whatever the time of day, and weather. Our four legged friend was extremely well catered for, with towels and bowls provided; having the utility room was an absolute bonus, enabling us to hose her, and our footwear down, after our twice daily walks on the beach. The provision of all the different ‘sitting out’ areas in the immaculate garden is a lovely thought/ addition AND it was brilliant to have a range of outdoor games available- we had great fun playing Croquet! 
In terms of location on the Island, the Cottage is ideally placed; everywhere being no more than a 15 minute drive. 
We absolutely LOVED our stay here!"

Wendy, Colin & Molly - May 2023

 

"You have an amazing cottage, the attention to detail in your cottage is amazing, alongside the beautiful interior design. We felt so welcome and comfortable. The beautiful and luxurious welcome pack was so kind. The tags on the treats, the card and little island book was well received.
Our children thoroughly enjoyed reading the Straad books and the dogs adventures. Alongside us feeling welcome, Charlie our dog was absolutely spoilt by you with his treats. He loved coming back from his walks, on the beach, having a clean with the hose and drying with the towels made him feel so special. We can truly say, we have never stayed in such a special holiday cottage before. Congratulations to you for creating such a luxurious home from home cottage it was a privilege to stay. Thank you and we look forward to returning sometime."

Chris & Family - February 2023


"Beautiful house with one of the best views. We have travelled around Scotland for many years and this house was superior to any others we’ve stayed at due to all the beautiful touches that the owner had taken the time to think about. The welcome pack was personalised and such a lovely treat. The cottage was decorated beautifully and every single guest comfort was prioritised down to the lovely bed linen and towels, through to a well stocked high end kitchen with every single item you would need. I have only wonderful things to say about this cottage and what a pleasure it was to enjoy our time there. The garden is fully enclosed so we relaxed knowing our dog was safe. It really is beautiful and anyone lucky enough to visit will know exactly what I mean. We will be back as soon as we can to enjoy another week on the Isle of Bute."

Deb - 01 October 2022


"This was our second visit to Seaview cottage. The feeling you get when you arrive is just one of relaxation and a wonderful home from home feel. The beauty of the location and the stunning views, married with the luxury and feel of the cottage just reconfirmed why we chose to have a second holiday here. The owners are lovely and communication is always easy, the pride they have in their very special property shows. This really is in our view one of the best places around with stunning Bute and the glorious beaches added in, well what can we say other than what a perfect blissful place this is."

Debbie - March 2023


"We travel to Scotland twice a year and one visit is always to a different part. This time we chose the Isle of Bute as it has always been on our wish list. We chose Seaview Cottage in Straad (not the one in Rothesay) firstly due to the fact is was so close to St Ninians Bay, literally a stones throw away and secondly because of how amazing the cottage looked online. We were not disappointed with either. The cottage was truly stunning. both inside and out I could write an essay about all the positive points but not one word of negativity. all I can say is if you want a truly beautiful location and five star accommodation then this is the place for you. We are already planning our return. "

Gail and Colin Horne - April 2023


"Outstanding had everything. Was the most well appointed holiday cottage I have ever been to. The quality of the cottage was outstanding. Beautifully clean - sparkling! The views- wow. The area - so quiet and beautiful. Loved the hotel chocolate velvetiser, the coffees, the garden, how close we were to the beach. The welcome pack was superb. We felt like VIP guests- was wonderful and highly recommend."

Hillary  -  29 October 2022


"An absolutely stunning cottage in a perfect setting. Everything you could want for a luxurious stay with very thoughtful extra touches to make it personal to you. All of us were made to feel very welcome including our 4 legged family. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and just wish our visit had been longer."

Mairi - April 2023


"We have all really enjoyed our stay here. So many thoughtful touches inside the cottage - we could not have been more comfortable. The dogs really enjoyed the enclosed garden and treats. Such easy access to the beach and stunning vistas all around us made for a wonderful holiday."

Miriam - 17 September 2022

"Thank you so much for allowing people to share the fabulous experience of your beautiful seaside retreat. The views are stunning and the silence apart from the sounds of nature so difficult to find these days, even for us in North Yorkshire. The cottage is so well appointed and we loved all the attention to detail in the decoration and the thought you have put into every creature comfort possible for your guests, even the furry kind. We have had an amazing time here and hope we might manage a return trip soon. Thank you again Paul, Sharon and Poppy & Lola."

Paul - January 2023


"We came here for a week at the end of January 2023 for out 30th wedding anniversary. Oh my god, the house, the views, the general ambiance is just fantastic. The accommodation is rated 5 stars in both Scottish tourist board and the A.A. In our opinion the house is way, way above those ratings. We told a local where we were staying and he replied " that is the best rental house on the island. Everything about the house is top of the range and that includes the views. We spent hours just sat in the conservatory looking through the supplied binoculars. I even managed to sit outside in the warm sunshine on a few days. Our two small dogs loved it, especially their personalised gifts that were left for them and we much appreciated our welcome pack. Absolutely stunning."

Sharon - January 2023


"Beautiful house with one of the best views. We have travelled around Scotland for many years and this house was superior to any others we’ve stayed at due to all the beautiful touches that the owner had taken the time to think about. The welcome pack was personalised and such a lovely treat. The cottage was decorated beautifully and every single guest comfort was prioritised down to the lovely bed linen and towels, through to a well stocked high end kitchen with every single item you would need. I have only wonderful things to say about this cottage and what a pleasure it was to enjoy our time there. The garden is fully enclosed so we relaxed knowing our dog was safe. It really is beautiful and anyone lucky enough to visit will know exactly what I mean. We will be back as soon as we can to enjoy another week on the Isle of Bute."

Debbie Skinner - October 2022

"Stunning Cottage! I cannot recommend it highly enough, the house is amazingly well equipped, extremely comfortable beds, great kitchen and the views are unmatched. We had the most relaxing stay, it was so quiet we had the best sleep ever. The most generous welcome pack made us feel truly spoilt. It was spotless and beautifully presented. We will definitely be returning."

Ann Taylor - March 2023


"Immaculate house , contents and garden. Probably some of the best views in the world."

Phil Kirkham - August 2022

 

Explore Book

HIDE